Oven Roasted Beet Chips

I used to HATE beets. By hate, I mean I never tried them but still claimed that they taste horrible. Last year, I finally decided to give beets a chance. My first beet experiment was a roasted risotto that completely changed my opinion of the little purple root vegetable. Since then, I have eaten beets in a variety of preparations, including raw.

These oven roasted chips are a quick and easy way to enjoy beets.

 


Oven Roasted Beet Chips Recipe

 

4 medium beets

1 tbsp salt

seasoning of your choice, I used Essence of Emeril (optional)

 

Preheat oven to 450.

Scrub beets with a potato brush and remove the tops and roots (you don’t need to scrub them).

Cut beets in 1/4″ slices (see note)

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Using an oil mister or a pastry brush, coat parchment with olive oil.

Place beet slices on baking sheet and coat with olive oil.

Bake for approximately 25 minutes, flipping after 15 minutes. (see note)

Remove from oven and immediately sprinkle salt and seasoning.

Note: I prefer these chips to be crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. If you like them crunchier, you can slice the beets thinner and/or bake a little longer.


Leave a comment