FroggyFeet: First Impressions

This week, I received a pair of Vibram FiveFingers KSO shoes from my sister.  I call them FroggyFeet!  These shoes are designed to give your musculoskeletal system the barefoot experience, while protecting your skin from debris.  The soles do not provide any cushioning or support, causing the muscles in your feet to grow stronger when walking and/or running in them.  That’s right, these shoes are meant for running!  These shoes are a far cry from the ultra cushy Nike Vomeros I usually run in.

Today, I gave the VFFs their first test.  I took my doggy, Dylan, on a 5 mile walk today; mostly on an asphalt trail. Periodically, we did some short running intervals (about a minute each) so I could get an idea of what it feels like to run in these shoes.  Here are my findings:

– I didn’t wear any socks so after about three miles I started getting blisters on my big toes and arches.  After the walk, I headed to my local running store and acquired a pair of Injini socks that should mitigate the blister problem in the future.

– The soles don’t provide much insulation from the ground and the tops are made of mesh so my feet were very cold.  Perhaps the socks will also help with this problem.

– Other people are intrigued by the shoes.  Twice, I was stopped and asked many questions about the purpose and comfortableness(?) of these shoes.  Surprisingly, both women thought the shoes were very cute.  I am happy to report that Dylan’s cuteness still attracts more attention than my shoes’ weirdness.  I had to explain what a puggle is at least three times during our walk.

– A few hours later, my feet were sore.  Perhaps they are becoming stronger.

Overall, I’m on the fence about these shoes.  I am not yet convinced that they are amazing, but I haven’t written them off either.  I will gradually start running in them more and see what happens.  Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

