Race Report: 2010 Workplace Indoor Triathlon

On Monday, I completed the indoor triathlon at my workplace.  I chose the “regular distance course” which consisted of 2,000m on the rowing machine, 3 miles on the stationary bike, and a 1.5 mile run on the treadmill.  It’s really not a race because the participants are completing the event at the same time.

I find that I perform better after a rest day, so didn’t work out on Sunday.  As a result, I felt very strong throughout the event on Monday.  I completed the row in 8:31, a seven second improvement over my practice race in January.

When moved from the rowing machine to the bike, I realized that I made a big mistake.  I forgot to adjust the bike before starting to row.  I didn’t lose too much time adjusting the seat, but adjusting the foot straps cost me about 2 minutes.  I was wearing my Vibram FiveFingers shoes which have a much lower profile than standard running shoes so when I got to the bike, the straps were way too loose.  The actual cycling portion of the tri went very well for me.  I finished the 3 mile bike in about 8:45, 26 seconds faster than my practice race.

Finally, I hopped onto the treadmill for the final leg, a 1.5 mile run.  Surprisingly, my legs and my heart did not feel fatigued by that point and I still felt very strong.  I started out conservatively to avoid crashing before the finish.  The strategy was successful and I completed the 1.5 mile run in 12:31, a whopping 2:17 improvement over my practice run of 14:48!

My overall time (including transitions) was 32:31.  I was a bit disappointed in the end because I lost so much time over a careless mistake, but I learned from it.  I’m still quite pleased with the progress I made in the past 3 weeks since my first practice race.  Now it’s time to start training for the real thing!

UPDATE:

I was just notified that my overall time was 30:39, not 32:31.  I guess I didn’t waste as much time adjusting the bike as I originally thought!

Leave a Reply

