IMCdA Training Summary: Week 7

It’s been a crazy week at work (and next week looks like it will be even busier) so this recap will mostly visual…

I didn’t get a chance to restock my fridge and pantry this week so I had to get a bit creative in the kitchen.  One of my gourmet creations was an oh-so-authentic avocado and jalapeño roll.

IMG_2431

Iron Chef material?

My friend convinced me to try a new Masters program on Friday that started at 5:30 am. I realize that’s standard for a lot of triathletes, but it’s been a long time since I went swimming that early in the morning.

IMG_2432

It’s too damn early!

The coach had us do a lot of drills that I never heard of. She instructed us to keep our pinkies up for one of them. I thought that meant to swim like a fancy person having tea (i.e. left photo). While drinking our post-swim coffee, I asked my friend what the point of that was. She laughed her ass off and explained that we were supposed to turn our palms out (i.e. right photo). What can I say, I’m an idiot…

IMG_2437

I was looking forward to a beautiful long ride in Woodside on Saturday morning. Those dreams were crushed on Friday when my presentation for work got bumped to Saturday afternoon. Instead, I rode the trainer while watching the live feed from IRONMAN Florida for inspiration.

I squeezed in a slow hour-long run on Sunday to show off my awesome new blue running tights!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I’m not even running but I look way faster here than I do in any of my race photos…

Here’s a random fun fact. Apparently, an internet search for “gentleman socks” will lead you to my blog. Thanks WordPress stats for that entertaining information!  What are gentleman socks?!?!

IMG_2440

Monday
1 hour of strength training

Tuesday
Run: 5 miles at the track.  1 mile warmup, 12×400, 1 mile cool down.
I’m trying to be conservative as I reintroduce speed work in my training, so my splits for the 400’s were pretty slow:
1:59, 1:54, 1:56, 1:55, 1:52, 1:51, 1:51, 1:52, 1:51, 1:50, 1:50, 1:49

Wednesday
Unplanned rest day.
I usually swim on Wednesdays, but my shoulder was sore so I deferred until Friday.

Thursday
Bike: 30 minutes on the trainer

Friday
Swim: 2,500 yards with lots of kick sets

Saturday
Bike: 90 minutes on the trainer

Sunday
Run: 1 hour

Leave a Reply

