Ditch the Itch… and Smell Better Too!

Do you want a signature scent that isn’t Pool Water? Does chlorine make you so itchy that you look like a junkie in withdrawal with head lice? If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, you must try this weird tip to get rid of belly fat chlorine from your hair and skin!

Since I can’t afford to hire some bad actors to make an over-dramatized infomercial, I’m just going to be straight with you and share a cheap easy trick for removing chlorine from your hair and skin after a session in the pool.


My beloved Giovanni shampoo is no match against the chemicals in the pool and since I’ve been swimming with some regularity these days, the chlorine had been building up on my scalp which became unbearably itchy. I tried Triswim a few times in the past, but it just made my hair dry without getting rid of the chlorine so I surfed the interwebz in search of another shampoo.

My search stopped when I found a blog post from Dr. Deborah McKay that recommends using Vitamin C to neutralize chlorine. The solution sounded so simple I had to try it.  Following her suggestion, I dissolved 1 tsp of Vitamin C crystals in 2 cups of water in a spray bottle and liberally sprayed my scalp, hair, and skin after swimming (I use about half the batch in one shower).  Then I just followed my usual shower routine with my regular shampoo, conditioner, body wash, etc.

I’ve been using this Vitamin C spray for about 3 weeks now and it’s worked really well for me.  My skin isn’t itchy anymore, my hair feels softer, and I don’t smell like a pool 24/7. The spray does have a slight metallic smell at first, but it seems to wear off within an hour.

*** Since everyone’s skin is different, I suggest spraying a small patch of skin first to make sure you don’t have a negative reaction before you applying it to your whole body ***

Leave a Reply

