IMCdA Training Summary: February 10 – February 16

I’m a little late in posting my recap from last week, but deal with it 🙂

Signing up for Masters Swimming a few months ago is proving to be a great decision. For years, I heard that the best way to improve in the water but I didn’t have the motivation to follow through and my swim splits suffered for it. Now, I am consistently going to Masters workouts 2-3 times per week and my yardage is gradually building. I swam 9,000 yards in the pool this week and felt like I could’ve gone farther. For me, this is monumental progress. Perhaps, I won’t drown in Lake Coeur d’Alene after all!

Saturday, my coach had us ride hill repeats. It was painful, but I need to become a stronger climber.

Screen Shot 2014-02-15 at 7.07.15 PM


Monday
Swim: 3,000 yards

Tuesday
Run: 3 slow miles on the treadmill
Bike: 20 minutes on the trainer

Wednesday
Swim: 3,000 yards
Bike: 60 minutes on the trainer

Thursday
90 minutes of strength training

Friday
Swim: 3,000 yards

Saturday
Bike: 30 miles with hill repeats

Sunday
Bike: 2 hours on the trainer

5 thoughts on “IMCdA Training Summary: February 10 – February 16

    • My Ironman is still 4 months away so I’m just starting to build my training volume. My coach said I’ll eventually have back-to-back 80 mile rides on Saturday and Sunday. So relatively speaking, this was an easy week. I’m starting to think signing up for an Ironman was a stupid idea 😉

Leave a Reply

