IMCdA Training Summary: February 17 – February 23

This week was a failure in time management. My training plan continues to build and I didn’t manage to make time for all of my workouts between the work that pays the bills and my final physical therapy sessions. I’m not going to beat myself up over two workouts but I’m also not going to make excuses. It’s time to move on and do better next week!

On Friday, I convinced a couple of friends to join me for an open water swim at Shadow Cliffs. Word on the street is Lake Coeur d’Alene can be pretty damn cold on race day so I wanted to start acclimating as soon as possible. The water temp at the beach was about 58 degrees F and a few degrees colder in the deeper areas. By the end of our short (~1,000 yards) swim, my hands and feet were completely numb (I didn’t wear booties or gloves). I’ll need to start testing strategies to heat up my extremities on race day. I’m thinking hand and toe warmers will be good. Any other suggestions?

IMG_2911

Super sexy wetsuit pose


Monday
Swim: 3,000 yards
Bike: 1 hour on the trainer

Tuesday
90 minutes of strength training
Run: 2 miles

Wednesday
Swim: 3,000 yards
Bike: 1 hour on the trainer

Thursday
90 minutes of strength training
Run: 2 miles

Friday
Swim: 1,000 yards in open water
Bike: 90 minutes on the trainer

Saturday
Bike: 60 miles

Sunday
Bike: 40 miles

14 hours total

5 thoughts on “IMCdA Training Summary: February 17 – February 23

Leave a Reply

